• Donnington Grove

Sparks release Hippopotamus-shaped vinyl for Record Store Day

Sparks release Hippopotamus-shaped vinyl for Record Store Day

Format: 7″
Label: BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd.

Previously unreleased track outside of Japan (physical Japan only CD) ‘You’ve Earned The Right To Be A Dick’ is a track taken from the ‘Hippopotamus’ album sessions. The B-side is Unaware from the 5 star reviewed 2017 ‘Hippopotamus’ album.

The exclusive limited edition Record Store Day product has taken direct inspiration from the award 

winning album artwork with the 7” disc cut in the shape of a hippo’s head, the same on the original album art.

This incredible cut out makes the 7” instantly collectable amongst Sparks fans and vinyl lovers alike. The double-sided insert included in a clear plastic bag.

A. You’ve Earned The Right To Be A Dick
B. Unaware

Sparks will return to Europe in May for a run of headline dates and festivals

MAY 2018
22 – UK, Glasgow, O2 Academy
23 – UK, Leeds, O2 Academy Leeds
24 – UK, London, O2 Forum Kentish Town
26 – UK, Southampton, Common People Festival
27 – Oxford, Common People Festival
28 – UK, Bournemouth, BIC (Beck’s special guests)
30 – France, Toulouse Le Bikini
31 – Spain, Barcelona, Primavera Sound

JUN 2018
1 – France, Nimes, This Is Not A Love Song Festival
5 – Germany, Munich, Freiheiz
6 – Germany, Cologne, Gloria-Theater
7 – Belgium, Antwerp, Arenbergschouwburg
9 – Netherlands, Utrecht, TivoliVredenburg Ronda
10 – Germany, Hamburg, Mojo Club
13 – Norway, Bergen, Bergenfest
14 – Norway, Oslo, Rockefeller Music Hall
16 – Sweden, Stockholm, Cirkus
17 – Sweden, Malmo, Kulturbolaget
18 – Denmark, Copenhagen, DR Koncerthuset
See allsparks.com/calendar for tickets links.

‘Hippopotamus’, the band’s 23rd album, received unanimous acclaim on its release in September 2017, subsequently appearing in many ‘Album Of The Year’ lists.

★★★★★ The Times | ★★★★★ The Independent ★★★★★ Daily Express | ★★★★★ Record Collector ★★★★ Mojo | ★★★★ Guardian | Classic Pop – 9/10 | Uncut – 8/10

The accompanying world tour saw Sparks and their band play a set that was euphoric, vital, brilliant and uncompromisingly typical of a band that refuses to rest on their laurels. The new songs (from ‘Hippopotamus’ including ‘Edith Piaf Said It Better Than Me’, ‘What The Hell Is It This Time?’ & ‘Missionary Position’) sounded like classics, the classics (including ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both of Us’, ‘Amateur Hour’ and ‘The Number One Song In Heaven’) sounded as vibrant and essential as ever, and audiences, and critics, were left in no doubt this genre-hopping band is on sparkling form.

Watch highlights of Sparks’ performance at the BBC 6 Music Festival

★★★★★ The Times (What a band)| ★★★★★ The Independent (one of the most innovative outfits in pop) | Record Collector (What a night) | ★★★★★ Classic Pop (The Mael brothers burn up the place) | Classic Rock (A brilliant night) | ★★★★★ The Skinny (a band performing at their absolute best)

Since storming into the charts, minds and airwaves in 1974 with This ‘Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both of Us’ from their album ‘Kimono My House’, Sparks have consistently created genre defying music and inspired – and continue to inspire and influence – generations of artists from Morrissey, Bjork & Depeche Mode to Franz Ferdinand, The Lemon Twigs & MGMT. Released on BMG, ‘Hippopotamus’ has been universally acclaimed with many critics declaring it to be one of the finest albums of the year and the pinnacle of the band’s career. Written, recorded and produced by Sparks ‘Hippopotamus’ is released on digital, CD, LP, picture disc and cassette formats.