Chamberhouse Mill stands as a possible contender as one of the two doomsday mills of Thatcham and was originally part of Crookham.
The mill, a working grist (corn) mill, was granted to Thomas Street in the 14th Century. The locals would bring their corn here to be ground into flour. It is not until 1656 that we have a name for a miller, in this case, a Thomas Eastman, miller to Dowse Fuller of Chamberhouse.
The mill passed down through family and changed hands until in 1882 Henry Smith became the miller. Henry lived at the mill with his wife, Sophia, and six children. In May 1909 Henry fell into the river and drowned. Two of the sons, Sidney and Fred, along with their sister Lillian, took over the mill trading as ‘Henry Smith & Sons’. Sidney died in 1936 and soon after Mr Tull, landlord, sold the mill to John Henry of Colthrop Mill. Lillian in 1959 leaving Fred as the last miller who manage to keep the mill running until his death on 21st January 1965.
The mill closed and was eventually sold to Mr M. V. Raphael who developed it into houses, thus ending over 600 years of milling.
To find out more contact us via email at email@example.com or visit our website thatchamhistoricalsociety.org.uk
The mill, a working grist (corn) mill, was granted to Thomas Street in the 14th Century. The locals would bring their corn here to be ground into flour.